PDA

View Full Version : Filter names uppercase 1st letter?



monster69
08-16-2004, 07:12 AM
Somewhere between Aug 8 and Aug 15, some sort of change happened with either SEQ or the zone names in relation to filter files.

Example: Aug 8 Qvic filter file -- qvic.xml
Aug 15 Qvic filter file - Qvic.xml

Anyone know what actually changed? Should I rename all my filter files with the first letter uppercase so they aren't blank?

Monster

monster69
08-17-2004, 09:54 AM
Okay, here is some more info based on an example:

On initial zone-in to Nedaria's Landing, the first round of zone-in info shows:

Zone: ChangeCode: Client, Zone: nedaria
Info: Loaded map: /usr/local/share/showeq/maps/Nedaria.map
Info: Saved spawn points: /root/.showeq/spawnpoints/qvic.sp
Info: Loaded spawn points: /root/.showeq/spawnpoints/nedaria.sp
Info: Loading Zone Filter File: /root/.showeq/filters/nedaria.xml
Zone: Zoning, Please Wait... (Zone: 'nedaria')
Zone: ChangeCode: Server, Zone:nedaria
notice the filter file loaded is lowercase nedaria.xml which is how its always been until recently.

Then on the second zone update (always two, the initial and then the one when you actually pop into the zone:

Zone: EntryCode: Server, Zone:
Time: Fri Jan 07,3183 - 08:21 pm
Debug: Welcome to lovely downtown 'Nedaria's Landing' with and experience multiplier of 1.000000
Debug: Safe Point (-1737.000000, -181.000000, 256.000000)
Info: Loaded map: '/usr/local/share/showeq/maps/Nedaria.map
Info: Loading Zone Filter File: /root/.showeq/filters/Nedaria.xml
Zone: Entered: ShortName = 'Nedaria' LongName = Nedaria's Landing
Zone: NewCode: Zone: Nedaria (Nedaria's Landing)
notice the 2nd load used upercase Nedaria.xml for the filter file.

I am not sure where to begin to fix this.
1) Should we rename all the filter files with the first letter uppercase?
2) Has it always been uppercase on the 2nd part and we converted it to lowercase?
3) Should I try to adjust the code so it converts the name to lowercase? if so could someone point me to which file I should start with?

Thanks,
Monster

Aeyn
08-19-2004, 07:08 AM
I've been having this same problem since 5.0.0.12 came out with the map gorilla fix. It's kind of annoying. Filters no longer work at all without renaming them. Any ideas on how to get it to search for variants of the filter name again? Thanks guys.

ksmith
08-19-2004, 08:12 AM
Try this:


--- filtermgr.cpp 7 Dec 2003 06:30:43 -0000 1.5.6.1
+++ filtermgr.cpp 19 Aug 2004 14:09:10 -0000
@@ -235,7 +235,7 @@
QString fileName = shortZoneName + ".xml";

QFileInfo fileInfo =
- m_dataLocMgr->findExistingFile("filters", fileName, true);
+ m_dataLocMgr->findExistingFile("filters", fileName, false);

m_zoneFilterFile = fileInfo.absFilePath();

Aeyn
08-20-2004, 07:43 AM
Thanks ksmith. This seems to have fixed the problem. Some zones still use the uppercase filename but most seem to be working now.