PDA

View Full Version : make error127

modsiw
09-03-2004, 03:29 PM
I'm new to linux so please bare with.
Running madrake10. Updated today fully via mandrake install. All CVS packs installed save the ones req. cd4.

I'm attemting to instal seq with zandramas' method. When I get to the make command it gives this error:

[root@modlin showeq]# make -f Makefile.dist
Adding libtool support......................................make[1]: *** [no-backup] Error 127
make: *** [all] Error 2

What is this? Better yet, how do I fix it?

thanks
modsiw

purple
09-03-2004, 03:51 PM
No libtool probably. Makefile.dist.dbg would probably pinpoint where in the Makefile.dist it is having problems. More than likely it has "*!* libtoolize --force --copy --automake *!*" and that's it because you don't have libtoolize.

modsiw
09-03-2004, 04:49 PM
Installed libtools with packet installer.
Now I get this error:

[root@modlin showeq]# make -f Makefile.dist
Adding libtool support...................................... done!
Generating aclocal.m4 from configure.in and acinclude.m4....make[1]: *** [no-backup] Error 127
[root@modlin showeq]# make -f Makefile.dist.dbg
Makefile.dist.dbg:1: *** multiple target patterns. Stop.

modsiw
09-03-2004, 04:52 PM
Is there a list of required packets? I'mguessing it isn't that easy.

purple
09-03-2004, 05:06 PM
Well, you did skip the "Install a fresh version of Redhat Linux 9.0 with all packages" part of Zandramus' install process!

Running the Makefile.dist.dbg like it is a makefile is gonna get you nowhere. Now you're probably missing automake so when the makefile tries to use aclocal it isn't there.