PDA

View Full Version : Autoconf and Mandrake 9.1

Svenshorts
09-20-2004, 10:24 AM
Apologies in advance if this has been asked before. I have used the search option numerous times and have spent the last few hours trawling Google for an answer to this question with no luck.

I run Mandrake 9.1 and according to the new tarball for seq i need to have Autoconf 2.45? or higher. My current installation is 2.13 and I have not managed to find an upgrade for this that is compatible with mandrake 9.1 anywhere.

Id be more happy for someone to call me an idiot as long as they post a link for a download for this. Im beginning to think that im gonna have to change my OS as its looking like Mandrake 9.1 wont support the new version.

Im a Linux newb sadly so if anyone has any ways around this problem please use small words and big letters :)

Thanks!!

Zaphod
09-20-2004, 02:05 PM
Svenshorts,
Many versions of Linux, including I believe Mandrake 9.1 and 9.2 come with multiple versions of autoconf installed, typically a 2.13 and a 2.5x flavor. On Mandrake or other RPM based system try the following from the command line:
rpm -q -a |grep autoconf. For a more distro nuetral command, you may also try the command:
find /usr/bin -name 'autoconf*' -print.

If you find you indeed need to install a new autoconf version you can probably find an RPM on Mandrakes web site (http://www.mandrakelinux.com/en/9.1/features/15.php3) or possibly on RPM Find (http://www.rpmfind.net/).

Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)

Svenshorts
09-21-2004, 02:19 AM
Hello and thanks for that.

I did a search in the directories and found 2.13 only and one that was just listed as autoconf with no version number. When I try running this it just says bad version.

I had a look at RPM site and all the downloads, about 7 of them listed as Mandrake are all different versions of 2.13. Ive tried downloading a few different ones of these but it tells me all the files are already installed.