PDA

View Full Version : New user trying to compile

MacLeod22
10-18-2004, 06:18 PM
I have tried following first the FAQ then I looked up a few posts about downloading and installing the beta of seq. I have downloaded it but can't get it to compile. I tried ' make -f MAkefile.dist ' and it gives me a big Are you really sure you want to be running this makefile' message then goes on to say 'If you are REALLY sure that you want to make/remake the build system you can do so by using the 'help' target of this makefile to see a list of its supported targets.'
As I am new to this I'm not quite sure how to do that. Am I doing something wrong? I'm using Redhat's Linux 8.0, I believe.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Mac

purple
10-18-2004, 08:08 PM
FAQ is out of date. Just do ./configure && make && make install

Freakyuno
10-19-2004, 06:53 AM
I'm using Redhat's Linux 8.0, I believe.

Your probably going to run into more problems with the newer builds on RH8, Recomend going to 9, or Fedora Core.

MacLeod22
10-22-2004, 05:05 PM
I'm still not able to run the make -f Makefile.dist for some reason. Am i doing something wrong? Oh I installed Redhat 9.0 now and still having the same problem.

I<3EQ
10-22-2004, 05:08 PM
What purple said

FAQ is out of date. Just do ./configure && make && make install

MacLeod22
10-22-2004, 05:13 PM
without doing the make? when I try that I get bash: ./configure: No such file or directory :(

purple
10-22-2004, 05:37 PM
Then you don't have the latest tarball, which once you do have also requires a hand patch from details in a thread in the developer forum.

MacLeod22
10-22-2004, 05:42 PM
Oh I didn't use a tarball, I thought I read it was better to use cvs and get it from there for Redhat 9? should I download a tarball? and if so which do I search for?

And thanks a ton for the quick response, I'm really hopong to get this up and running tonight.

purple
10-22-2004, 06:10 PM
http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthread.php?t=5065