PDA

View Full Version : Help

daishi2
02-13-2002, 11:43 PM
I am trying to install showeq4.0 I have succesfully installed QT I get to the line

make -f Makefile.dist

I get in return:

Makefile.dist:1: *** missing separator. Stop.

I can't figure it out I have reinstalled and made sure I have everything....any help would be appreciated.

Madd
02-14-2002, 12:42 PM
be sure your in the seq/showeq folder

daishi2
02-14-2002, 12:53 PM
I am, I can do a dir of the directory and can see all the files I need for compiling

fryfrog
02-14-2002, 07:15 PM
make sure you have all the "automake" and "autoconf" type packages... other than that, i can't think of what could be wrong.

daishi2
02-15-2002, 01:29 AM
I know absolutely nothing about linux this is my first try at it. How do I make sure those are registered? If they're not how do I get them into my system?

S_B_R
02-15-2002, 02:56 PM
Well, with out knowing anything about your system, like what Linux Distribution you are using and etc... ...

If it's RedHat you can check if those packages are installed with the rpm command.

rpm -qa | grep Name_Of_Package

then if they are not installed you should be able to find the correct packages on your RedHat cd's or from RPMFind (http://www.rpmfind.net)...

daishi2
02-15-2002, 03:08 PM
using that I found I have:

automake-1.4-8

autoconf-2.13-10

??

Ataal
02-18-2002, 05:26 PM
I did a few searches on some of the other forums for that error...this is the closest thing to a fix to your problem:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hmm... a few people are asking about the "Missing Separator" error
>from Make.

I had this "Missing Separator" problem three times. And all three
times the trouble is "expanded" TAB characters. Make would flag
"Makefile: line 29, Missing Sepatator", and the line would look like:

junk: junk.o
ld junk.o <-- line 29.

It turns out that the white spaces in front of the "ld junk.o" is not