PDA

View Full Version : total noob =\

new_to_this
11-19-2004, 02:51 AM
hey guys ive been readin and tryin to figure out how to do the install and whatnot but im a computer moron i guess cuz i cant figure it out. Can anyone help me through the install plz?

User13
11-19-2004, 03:09 AM
Err. More specifics would be good, Do you have Linux up and running, is it just SEQ that give you trouble etc etc.

Also try search, Not often you have to ask a question as its all been covered before.

Tor K'tal
11-19-2004, 09:02 AM
Maybe start here (http://www.showeq.net/forums/faq.php?faq=new_faq_item#faq_seqfaq_purpose).

But how about a quick series of yes/no's to point you, and hopefully allow you to point us in the right direction to help you. (Please don't post answer to each of thes questions, as I did not write them in such a way to have you answer them directly, but to gauge at what point you are getting to in the process and hopefully where to go to get help at that step most readily)

Are you talking about SEQ or MySEQ (they are different) ?
If MySEQ, then... Maybe ask the guys over in the MySEQ forum (http://www.showeq.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
If SEQ, then... Do you get any error messages?
If yes, then... Please search on them and then ask about them if that didn't help.
If no, then... Are you even getting that far (compiling/configuring)?
If yes (compiling/configuring), then... Maybe the faq document might be able to pointed you in the right direction, or the INSTALL, or the INSTALL.newbie files (what packages are required)... if not, be more specific so we can try and help.
If no (compiling/configuring) then... Are you able to untar the file?
If yes (untar) then... Can your question be answered by reading the INSTALL.newbie file that came with what you downloaded?
If no (untar) then... at the console prompt where you have downloaded the tarbal to. Based on the file extention you downloaded:
type "tar -xvzf seqfiletar.gz" for a .tar.gz file (gzipped)