PDA

View Full Version : Packet encryption change?

Barshamm
04-30-2005, 06:43 AM
Guys, I've been using Showeq for 2 years now, and I play on test server a lot. Showeq always gets SOME information and sees packets just fine, it's even worked when I'd change a few offsets before. Now, since a patch this morning, it does not see ANY packets except the SEQClosing one. I've never seen this behaviour before. Everything works fine in EQ Live.
Any ideas?

*edited for stupid title*

purple
04-30-2005, 07:15 AM
Opcodes all changed, net layer looks fine. Oh joy.

BlueAdept
04-30-2005, 07:31 AM
NM. Purple beat me.

Damn sony and their opcode changes. At least it wasn't an encryption change.

Barshamm
04-30-2005, 07:37 AM
Whew, thank God for that. I was scared to death hehe. I've always gotten SOMEthing before, just never no packets at all.

purple
04-30-2005, 08:06 AM
They used to just bump opcodes a little bit, so changes were incremental. Recently, instead of small changes, every single opcode changes. Needless to say, this is a pain in the ass.

There's also some struct changes as well I think, but I didn't take a lot of time to look into it. So I'm guessing next patch we're gonna have a bit more downtime than usual.

Barshamm
05-08-2005, 07:18 AM
Ok then, is there any docs on what to look for in Opcode changes that a person could use to identify the changed opcodes so that I can get the changes made for my test client? It'd sure help me and seems like it might just get me back into coding, I've not done any programming since the 80's /grin

BlueAdept
05-08-2005, 08:17 AM
Search is your friend...

Anyone can help with mapping opcodes if they have time. To do so:
1) Pick an opcode from the unmapped list (the zoneopcodes.xml may have more info if you don't know what the opcode is. Check the comment field)
2) Turn on Unknown logging in seq (Network->Log->Unknown Zone Data)
3) tail -f ~/.showeq/logs/unknown.log