PDA

View Full Version : Problems Compiling 5.0.0.23



Radolam
07-07-2005, 09:54 AM
I am having a problem compiling 5.0.0.23 and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for me.

"configure" runs fine but when I run "make" it errors with the following errors...

filter.cpp: In member function `bool Filter::addFilter(const QString&)':
filter.cpp:342: invalid conversion from `const char*' to `unsigned int'
filter.cpp:342: initializing argument 1 of `QString&
QString::replace(unsigned int, unsigned int, char)'
filter.cpp:342: invalid conversion from `const char*' to `unsigned int'
filter.cpp:342: initializing argument 2 of `QString&
QString::replace(unsigned int, unsigned int, char)'
filter.cpp: In member function `bool Filter::addFilter(const QString&, unsigned
char, unsigned char)':
filter.cpp:373: invalid conversion from `const char*' to `unsigned int'
filter.cpp:373: initializing argument 1 of `QString&
QString::replace(unsigned int, unsigned int, char)'
filter.cpp:373: invalid conversion from `const char*' to `unsigned int'
filter.cpp:373: initializing argument 2 of `QString&
QString::replace(unsigned int, unsigned int, char)'
make[2]: *** [filter.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq-5.0.0.23/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq-5.0.0.23'
make: *** [all] Error 2

I am running Redhat 9 with Kernal 2.4.20.6.
As a test I recompiled 5.0.0.22 and it works fine.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Radolam

purple
07-07-2005, 10:00 AM
Upgrade your QT to at least 3.2. I use 3.3.4. I don't know if anyone has tested with 4.0 yet.

Radolam
07-07-2005, 11:17 AM
Will do and thanks!

eqhunter
07-09-2005, 06:45 PM
ok stupid question... whats the comman to upgrade the QT?

purple
07-09-2005, 07:29 PM
emerge -uv qt for me, but I wouldn't imagine you'll be so lucky.

Upgrading system components is distribution specific. You might be lucky and someone here runs your distribution and will be able to help you, but you will probably do better looking at documentation for your specific distribution. Alternately, if you just want a tarball, go to trolltech's website and download a version of qt later than 3.2 but not 4.0, and follow their instructions.

BlueAdept
07-09-2005, 10:41 PM
You can probably get the rpms for it. Then just do rpm -uhv and then the name of the rpm. (the -uhv might be wrong. Im doing it from memory).

eqhunter
07-10-2005, 04:34 PM
Blue, I have the RPM but get an error.


[root@localhost qtdownload]# rpm -Uvh qt-3.3.4-15.1.i386.rpm
warning: qt-3.3.4-15.1.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 4f2a6fd2
error: Failed dependencies:
/etc/ld.so.conf.d is needed by qt-3.3.4-15.1
libXinerama.so.1 is needed by qt-3.3.4-15.1
libstdc++.so.6(GLIBCXX_3.4) is needed by qt-3.3.4-15.1
qt = 1:3.1.2-13.4 is needed by (installed) qt-devel-3.1.2-13.4
qt = 1:3.1.2-13.4 is needed by (installed) qt-MySQL-3.1.2-13.4
/usr/lib/qt-3.1 is needed by (installed) redhat-artwork-0.73.2-2E
[root@localhost qtdownload]#


Now I found the /etc/ld.so.conf.d I just dont know what to put in it.

BlueAdept
07-10-2005, 09:33 PM
see if you can get the 3.2 rpm for rh9. It might help with some of the dependancies.

You will need the devel rpm too.

If not, you could very well be in dependancy hell. If all else fails you can do -nodeps. That will not check for dependancies but NOTE: YOU CAN MESS UP YOUR SYSTEM IF IT BREAKS SOMETHING.

Third option is to install fedora core 3. It compiles flawlessly.

Cryonic
07-10-2005, 09:36 PM
you don't put anything in it. You are trying to install a QT rpm that isn't meant for your system. The failure to find ld.so.conf.d isn't because the file was there or not in the filesystem, but missing from the RPM database. The rest are telling you that it is in conflict with other packages.



qt = 1:3.1.2-13.4 is needed by (installed) qt-devel-3.1.2-13.4
qt = 1:3.1.2-13.4 is needed by (installed) qt-MySQL-3.1.2-13.4
/usr/lib/qt-3.1 is needed by (installed) redhat-artwork-0.73.2-2E


Conflict here between the 3.3.4 that you are trying to install and the 3.1.2 that is already installed.



libstdc++.so.6(GLIBCXX_3.4) is needed by qt-3.3.4-15.1


You don't have the right glibc version installed for that rpm.

eqhunter
07-10-2005, 11:23 PM
well I got QT to work.. after reading afew pages I got it

Now I can ./configure

but I get this error on make


make
[root@localhost showeq-5.0.0.23]# make
make all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/showeq-5.0.0.23'
Making all in src
make[2]: Entering directory `/showeq-5.0.0.23/src'
if g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.. -I/usr/lib/qt-3.1/include -I/usr/X11R6/inclu de -DPKGDATADIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq/\" -I/usr/include/pcap -D_REENTRA NT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1 -DDISPL AY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -g -O2 -MT filter.o -MD -MP -MF ".deps/ filter.Tpo" -c -o filter.o filter.cpp; \
then mv -f ".deps/filter.Tpo" ".deps/filter.Po"; else rm -f ".deps/filter.Tpo"; exit 1; fi
filter.cpp: In member function `bool Filter::addFilter(const QString&)':
filter.cpp:342: invalid conversion from `const char*' to `unsigned int'
filter.cpp:342: initializing argument 1 of `QString&
QString::replace(unsigned int, unsigned int, char)'
filter.cpp:342: invalid conversion from `const char*' to `unsigned int'
filter.cpp:342: initializing argument 2 of `QString&
QString::replace(unsigned int, unsigned int, char)'
filter.cpp: In member function `bool Filter::addFilter(const QString&, unsigned
char, unsigned char)':
filter.cpp:373: invalid conversion from `const char*' to `unsigned int'
filter.cpp:373: initializing argument 1 of `QString&
QString::replace(unsigned int, unsigned int, char)'
filter.cpp:373: invalid conversion from `const char*' to `unsigned int'
filter.cpp:373: initializing argument 2 of `QString&
QString::replace(unsigned int, unsigned int, char)'
make[2]: *** [filter.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/showeq-5.0.0.23/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/showeq-5.0.0.23'
make: *** [all] Error 2
[root@localhost showeq-5.0.0.23]#


As you all know Im kinda clueless so any help would be great

purple
07-11-2005, 05:38 AM
make[2]: Entering directory `/showeq-5.0.0.23/src'
if g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.. -I/usr/lib/qt-3.1/include -I/usr/X11R6/inclu de -DPKGDATADIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq/\" -I/usr/include/pcap -D_REENTRA NT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1 -DDISPL AY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -g -O2 -MT filter.o -MD -MP -MF ".deps/ filter.Tpo" -c -o filter.o filter.cpp;

Upgrade your QT to at least 3.2. I use 3.3.4. I don't know if anyone has tested with 4.0 yet.

Also, showeq 5.0.0.24 is out.

Spaz
07-11-2005, 08:38 AM
If you're not handy with Linux, you might want to consider just jumping to Fedora Core 3. QT needs attention now for RH9 users, but it's quite likely other bits will begin having issues as time goes on. I'm sure they'll be correctable, but I personally didn't feel like jumping through hoops anymore.

eqhunter
07-11-2005, 10:54 AM
well Im thinking of moving to Fedora Core 3. My Linux box is redhat WS3 and there seems to be more people here that use Fedora. I know its redhat also but it maybe easier for me

unixadmin
07-11-2005, 08:03 PM
I compiled QT 3.3.4 from scratch. Just make sure you follow the exact directions and configure QT with threaded support (./configure -thread) and it works like a champ. This is on RedHat 9. Also, do a QTDIR=/usr/local/qt or wherever you installed it and should be good to go. Of course, on my RHEL 4 system it worked like a champ from the start. No problems as expected :)

EMT99a
07-23-2005, 07:50 PM
I am having one hell of a time find the QT 3.3+ RPM's for Redhat 9... I know I'm just not looking in the right place... Anyone able to assist?

(and please don't bad-mouth me by pointing me to a proper previous post. I've searched for 3 days trying to find this.)

Cryonic
07-23-2005, 08:11 PM
don't use rpms then, and don't overwrite the system installed versions or lots of X stuff will break.

Just build the new version of QT from tarball.

EMT99a
07-24-2005, 11:46 AM
Ok... mind telling me where to find that?

purple
07-24-2005, 12:13 PM
Be sure not to point him to a proper previous post though, even though they are there, since he's been searching for 3 days!

EMT99a
07-24-2005, 04:32 PM
Oh hush Purple.... =)

I did upgrade to FC4 now and ./configure is working fine.

make on the other hand is not, so I will find the reason for this and fix it.

Cryonic
07-24-2005, 09:08 PM
yep, in 3 days you'll be posting that you couldn't find an answer for your new problem either... yet solutions already exist for the problems with FC4.

hint: CeleSEQ

EMT99a
07-25-2005, 07:42 AM
Actually I did find the answer and it's working fine. =)

Believe me... I'd much rather work the problem myself than get people to walk me through it. The only time I ask is when I'm so damn frustrated that I give up. I appreciate your patience and help.