PDA

View Full Version : showeq maps

doox00
08-02-2005, 07:54 AM
Hey there,

I have been using showeq on and off for a couple years. There used to be maps when I used it in the past. I just started playing eq again this past weekend, so last night I got showeq up and going, and again there are no maps showing. How do I go about getting maps to work with showeq? I am not super linux savvy, know enough to get in trouble is about all, plus I do not know all the ins and outs of showeq, just used it for basic functionality, outta the box really to see if spawns were up etc.

Thanks for any input you could give me on how/where to import maps for the different zones.

purple
08-02-2005, 08:25 AM
You could install the showeq-maps package or tarball to get the maps showeq distributes, but this is pretty imcomplete at this point and I'm not aware of any plans to bring it more up to date, as it would be a pain to deal with. You could get maps off mapfiend and put them in your ~/.showeq/maps directory though. Be sure to get seq formatted maps when you do.

Alternately, what I do is use samba to access my eq client files from my linux machine. If I zone into a place that I have an in-game map but no seq map, I open the sony map in seq then save it under seq and rename the file so it's correct. If I zone into a place that I have a seq map and no in-game map, I save a sony-format map from seq, zone out, and copy the map seq saved over to my eq client's map folder. If I have neither, I either make my own map or go get a map off mapfiend.

BlueAdept
08-02-2005, 08:37 AM
http://eq.mapfiend.net/

It is a pretty good source for maps for both sony and SEQ

doox00
08-02-2005, 08:40 AM
Al I need to do is get the mapfiend allmaps seq format maps, extract them and put it in ~/.showeq/maps directory? Nothing else is required?

gruntsters
08-02-2005, 11:40 AM