PDA

View Full Version : missing files

gsosure
01-11-2006, 11:27 PM
I'm having a few troubles installing showeq on Redhat FC4. I did a complete install of FC4. so i thought i'd have all the files i'd need, but when i run the showeq installed for FC4 it says i'm missing libstdc++. I've been tring to find this file online, but I'm having no luck. any ideas? I got the install from fedora.showeq.org and i was reading a post from another user saything they ran yum update and that fixed the issue... Yeah i'm a linux uber newb what the "yum update"??

spack
01-12-2006, 10:51 AM
Well, assuming you said to install all of the development libraries and such when installing FC4 (like I did), then try this from terminal:

> su
> ******** (root password)
> yum install qt-devel.i386

see if that helps...

Disclaimer: I am a Linux N00btard but this worked for me, YMMV.

gsosure
01-12-2006, 12:34 PM
yup all i had to do was run yum update in the terminal and boom it was all there.. thanks

gsosure
01-12-2006, 05:21 PM
ok now i'm having another issue lol, i got the files installed and i installed the showeqfc4 file and maps, but how do i get showeq to open...sorry i'm sure this is a newb question but i couldn't find any help with the rpm install....thanks

spack
01-12-2006, 06:13 PM
Assuming you aren't running as root user...
> su
> <rootpassword>
> showeq

elf
01-12-2006, 06:53 PM
better option might be:
su
<password>
chmod +s /usr/local/bin/showeq
exit

and then run showeq as a normal user. You have to redo that every time you make install, but it's worth it to not be running a terminal as root all the time.

CeleSEQ
01-16-2006, 11:12 AM