PDA

View Full Version : managed switch setup

newport
03-07-2006, 02:49 AM
ok, so I got my hands on a Cisco 2940 managed switch, and after hours of reading, I'm no closer to working out how I can use the management system, to set up a monitoring port for showeq.

I was wondering if anyone had expreience with doing this, and could give me a tip or 2.

(ok i found info about the SPAN functionality, that must be what i'm after. google is good )

tanner
03-07-2006, 08:30 AM
http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthread.php?t=5395

purple
03-07-2006, 09:18 AM
No where in that thread does it tell the guy how to set up his Cisco switch to do port mirroring...

Return
03-07-2006, 03:13 PM
I was thinking there was a command to allow all traffic to be broadcast to all ports?

CeleSEQ
03-07-2006, 03:32 PM
To the best of my knowledge you can mirror a port, but you can't change the switch into a hub in configuration. I'm no Cisco expert though.Perhaps there's a way.

Tor K'tal
03-07-2006, 05:16 PM
Port Mirroring and/or Port Forwarding should the setting you are looking for.

There is a very good possability that the port you 'mirror to'/'forward to' will no longer be able to be used for standard communications. So escentually it becomes an exit only from the switch. Keep that in mind when you go to hook your linux system up to it. Note: that is dependant on the switch and I'm not 100% familiar with yours

Doesn't it come with a HTTP configuration tool, or are you stuck in the Cisco IOS command line stuff?

~ TK

newport
03-07-2006, 06:46 PM
Thanks guys.
In reply to Tor K'Tal, yes, there is a very comprehensive web based interface tool for the switch.

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/473/41.html

SPAN is the functionality I think I need to use here ( see above link ).

Although I think your are correct in saying that its an exit only function and won't allow me to browse the web on my linux box while im using the feature.