PDA

View Full Version : Map shows NPC's, players, etc moving but my char stays still

myxiplx
07-23-2006, 06:56 AM
Can anyone explain what's happening here. I'm very new to Linux & ShowEQ, but otherwise pretty familiar with PC's.

ShowEQ appears to work, I can see my own client and my gf's. Maps are working and I can see NPC's and players wandering about.

However my own character doesn't move. It just sits on the showeq map at the point I was when I zoned in.

Now I am using a wireless network, and really have very little idea how to configure networking, etc... in linux. Is it possible that I'm only seeing some packets from my machine?

If so, is there any easy way around this? Are there any network management programs that would allow me to link the windows pc / linux pc through their wired network cards & monitor all traffic on the wireless connection that way? Ie. configure some program on the windows PC to use the wired card as a network monitoring port for the wireless connection?

thanks,

Ross

spack
07-23-2006, 09:54 AM
Is it possible that I'm only seeing some packets from my machine?
Well, I think you only want to see packets from your machine. Try putting your clients MAC address in under the Network menu to set the monitoring filter to that alone. You might need to try clicking Session Tracking too. See if this help.

myxiplx
07-23-2006, 10:04 AM
No, I'm doing that. I've tried getting ShowEQ to pick the first session it sees, filtering by IP, and by MAC address. I get the same symptoms regardless.

It seems that ShowEQ only picks up the player as they zone. If I were to guess, I'd say it's as if I'm seeing all the information coming *from* the server, but none of the information going back.