PDA

View Full Version : OpCodes, Patch 02/13/2007

QuietWolfe
02-14-2007, 09:14 PM
I am a novice user.

After reading and reading and searching, I read the threads about OpCodes and Structs.

I think I found an opcode using the methods described here;
http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthread.php?t=5314&highlight=Finding+Opcodes

However. I was looking for OP_ZoneEntry and found when I zoned, back and forth, that opcode 0x41a9 was frequent. checking and changing that opcode in zoneopcodes.xml and getting these messages now in the console.

Warning: OP_ZoneEntry (0x41a9) (dataLen: 18) doesn't match: sizeof(ClientZoneEntryStruct):68
Warning: OP_ZoneEntry (0x41a9) (dataLen: 18) doesn't match: sizeof(ClientZoneEntryStruct):68
Great! so, I might have found the opcode for ZoneEntry.. now what?

I looked in everquest.h, because that is where it said I needed to change the size and then do a recompile..

So, I find the section that is labeled 'struct ClientZoneEntryStruct'

And read on down.

If the size is 68, but it doesnt match... what exactly do I change in that struct in order to get the size to match?

Be easy.. I am a first timer at trying to figure out OpCodes and Structs.

purple
02-14-2007, 09:58 PM
18 to 68 is too big of a change more than likely. Feeling out what is getting removed/added/moved around in structs is kinda an experience thing. It helps a lot if the struct isn't mostly unknown.

OP_ZoneEntry is twice on zoning. The easiest way to find it is to find the ServerZoneEntryStruct which is just a spawnStruct for you. This should be obvious since it has your char name in it. Then find the opcode for that packet and now you have the opcode for ZoneEntry.

BlueAdept
02-14-2007, 10:09 PM
Looks pretty borked to me. At least the encryption didnt change. But it is beyond my limited capabilities. But hopefully most of it is just minor struct changes. Im sure several of the things are impacting it, like guild banners, new equipment slot and such.