PDA

View Full Version : configure: error: No working Qt meta object compiler (moc) found!



flipper
02-21-2007, 03:08 PM
I get the following error during ./configure on an OpenSUSE 10.2 install. Any ideas about which package I'm missing?

Thanks!



checking for Qt... yes
>> Found version.: 3.3.7
>>> Headers......: /usr/lib/qt3/include/
>>>> Libraries...: /usr/lib/qt3/lib/
>>>> Documentation...: /usr/lib/qt3/doc/html/
>>>>> Workable...: -*{ YES }*-
checking for Qt MOC... configure: error: No working Qt meta object compiler (moc) found!

Configure found and tried to use '/usr/bin/moc', but failed...

If configure shouldn't have tried '/usr/bin/moc', please set the environment
variable MOC to point to the location of your prefered moc binary and run
configure over.

As a last resort, it may be possible to eliminate this error by typing:

export MOC=`updatedb && locate moc | grep bin/moc` (with the `s)

purple
02-21-2007, 04:57 PM
What does "moc -v" say? Maybe the moc in your path is for qt4 and not qt3?

flipper
02-21-2007, 10:25 PM
What does "moc -v" say? Maybe the moc in your path is for qt4 and not qt3?
You, my friend, are a Meta Object Compiler genious. :D . It says Qt 4.2.1. Is there a mechanism to redirect it (i.e. an environment variable)?

Thanks!

flipper
02-22-2007, 12:08 AM
Nevermind. Oddly enough, compiling SEQ as a regular user worked fine (root did not). However, 'make install' required root access to write files. All is working fine now. :D

purple
02-22-2007, 08:13 AM
You can do "which moc" as your user and it should dump a path where the qt3 moc is. Then as root, you can do "export MOC=/usr/qt3/bin/moc" (or whatever path the original which returned). Ideally configure would know automatically which to use. I don't know how it decides. Automake/autoconf are still beyond my comprehension.