PDA

View Full Version : How bad would you estimate the SEQ damage?

Jaxxian
05-16-2007, 05:43 PM
I have been using SEQ for around 5 years now. I will admit to barely being able to keep my Linux box running much less get fancy with programming that will help out. I remember on the last long downtime all the Windows versions coming out and the clients running on the EQ machine itself. I don't feel comfortable running client apps on my EQ machine so would rather wait for SEQ to work again. I tried MySEQ but even with every tweak they suggested, running it on two different boxes was horrible performance wise. Things updated like every 30 seconds, the lag was horrible even after doing all the settings they said and buying new hardware so I really don't even condsider that an option.

So that being said, what would you rough guesstimate on the complexity of getting around this latest issue and back to a clientless monitor only safe solution? 6 months? Never? It was about 9 months last time wasn't it? with all the client stuff kind of filling in the gap. If it will be that long I can just remove the extra monitor ( I have four now) and extra computer case for the time being, I could use the space. Thanks for any educated guesses, wish I could be more help trying to find solutions but I know my level on this stuff.

Cryonic
05-16-2007, 10:48 PM
It was 9 months last time because SOE eventually reduced the encryption on the packets back to a reliably crackable level without the need for things like key sniffers. This time it seems that SOE is no longer using static opcodes for the various client<->server events. Not sure how much progress purple or others have made in figuring out how random that jumping is, but that is the reason that SEQ is still effectively down.

BlueAdept
05-17-2007, 08:43 AM