PDA

View Full Version : Compiling new version in Ubuntu 7



dudex
11-01-2007, 08:17 PM
Hi,

I'm on a fresh install of Ubuntu (old version died) so I need to recompile the new version (I've already overwritten the files with the ones from ieatacid).

Initial attempts to run ./configure ended with the following error:


checking for C++ compiler default output file name...
configure: error: C++ compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.Downloading this fixed the C++ error:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/feisty/devel/g++ (below the "Download g++" header)

Now I get a QT error.

I've installed the following so far, with the same result:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/feisty/libdevel/libqt4-dev
http://packages.ubuntu.com/feisty/devel/qt4-dev-tools
http://packages.ubuntu.com/feisty/misc/lsb-qt4

Some of them were really big; in total I think I've installed 100 required sub-components but none of them seem to satisfy.

(By the way, tanner's sources all generate errors; I searched the forums, tested and tried a ton of things for about 2 hours before posting this.)

Cryonic
11-01-2007, 09:01 PM
Well, since you don't show what QT error you are getting, we can't help either.

dudex
11-01-2007, 09:06 PM
Ah, sorry. It's rather generic, I didn't think it'd help...


checking for Qt... no
>> Unable to locate your Qt includes...
configure: error: Please verify your Qt devel install! If you want the entire blob, here goes:


checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... no
checking for mawk... mawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking for doxygen... no
configure: WARNING: doxygen not found - will not generate any doxygen documentation
checking for perl... /usr/bin/perl
checking for gcc... gcc
checking for g++... g++
checking for supported compiler version... checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking for C++ compiler default output file name... a.out
checking whether the C++ compiler works... yes
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of executables...
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
checking dependency style of g++... gcc3
yes
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... (cached) yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... (cached) yes
checking dependency style of g++... (cached) gcc3
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for an ANSI C-conforming const... yes
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether ln -s works... yes
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... (cached) yes
checking for a sed that does not truncate output... /bin/sed
checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /bin/grep
checking for egrep... /bin/grep -E
checking for ld used by gcc... /usr/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking for /usr/bin/ld option to reload object files... -r
checking for BSD-compatible nm... /usr/bin/nm -B
checking how to recognise dependent libraries... pass_all
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking dlfcn.h usability... yes
checking dlfcn.h presence... yes
checking for dlfcn.h... yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... g++ -E
checking for g77... no
checking for xlf... no
checking for f77... no
checking for frt... no
checking for pgf77... no
checking for cf77... no
checking for fort77... no
checking for fl32... no
checking for af77... no
checking for xlf90... no
checking for f90... no
checking for pgf90... no
checking for pghpf... no
checking for epcf90... no
checking for gfortran... no
checking for g95... no
checking for xlf95... no
checking for f95... no
checking for fort... no
checking for ifort... no
checking for ifc... no
checking for efc... no
checking for pgf95... no
checking for lf95... no
checking for ftn... no
checking whether we are using the GNU Fortran 77 compiler... no
checking whether accepts -g... no
checking the maximum length of command line arguments... 32768
checking command to parse /usr/bin/nm -B output from gcc object... ok
checking for objdir... .libs
checking for ar... ar
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for strip... strip
checking for correct ltmain.sh version... yes
checking if gcc supports -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions... no
checking for gcc option to produce PIC... -fPIC
checking if gcc PIC flag -fPIC works... yes
checking if gcc static flag -static works... yes
checking if gcc supports -c -o file.o... yes
checking whether the gcc linker (/usr/bin/ld) supports shared libraries... yes
checking whether -lc should be explicitly linked in... no
checking dynamic linker characteristics... cat: /etc/ld.so.conf.d/*.conf: No such file or directory
GNU/Linux ld.so
checking how to hardcode library paths into programs... immediate
checking whether stripping libraries is possible... yes
checking if libtool supports shared libraries... yes
checking whether to build shared libraries... yes
checking whether to build static libraries... yes
configure: creating libtool
appending configuration tag "CXX" to libtool
checking for ld used by g++... /usr/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking whether the g++ linker (/usr/bin/ld) supports shared libraries... yes
checking for g++ option to produce PIC... -fPIC
checking if g++ PIC flag -fPIC works... yes
checking if g++ static flag -static works... yes
checking if g++ supports -c -o file.o... yes
checking whether the g++ linker (/usr/bin/ld) supports shared libraries... yes
checking dynamic linker characteristics... cat: /etc/ld.so.conf.d/*.conf: No such file or directory
GNU/Linux ld.so
checking how to hardcode library paths into programs... immediate
appending configuration tag "F77" to libtool
checking for supported libc version... yes
checking for X... libraries , headers
checking for IceConnectionNumber in -lICE... yes
checking for libXext... yes
checking for extra includes... no
checking for extra libs... no
checking for libz... -lz
checking for libpng... -lpng -lz -lm
checking for Qt... no
>> Unable to locate your Qt includes...
configure: error: Please verify your Qt devel install! HEE HEE HOO HAA

4 hours and I'm going bonkers...


Downloaded QT straight from Trolltech:
http://trolltech.com/developer/downloads/qt/x11

Even THIS won't install.


Qt is now configured for building. Just run 'make'., it says.


Once everything is built, you must run 'make install'.
Qt will be installed into /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.2okay thank you!



To reconfigure, run 'make confclean' and 'configure'.
you bet, will do!

So I type "make" and get a crapload of errors, which I don't really think you need to care about, not here anyway.

Does anybody know for a fact the exact package I need for Ubuntu that I haven't already installed?



Or, more brilliantly, how do I actually "verify my Qt devel install" as per the error?

Carpathian
11-02-2007, 12:06 AM
The first thing I notice off the bat is that you're trying to compile Qt4. At the current time, ShowEQ only supports Qt3. It can be downloaded here: ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt-x11-free-3.3.8.tar.gz

However, Ubuntu should have a package manager. I would recommend you simply download/install Qt via that method, unless there is a reason you need to compile from source yourself.

dudex
11-02-2007, 12:26 AM
Yeah, the only thing the package manager found for QT3 was a bunch of useless interface designing-programs, which I obviously installed over the course of my blundering. I really want the text-based version of apt for Ubuntu that Debian had, that thing was super-handy.

I actually just spent the last 2.5 hours, literally, compiling and installing QT (from the link above); when it finally finished, I got the same "verify your Qt devel install!" message.

It's a good thing you posted or I'd be completely, totally, utterly flabbergasted. ;)

I'll try installing that file now! Thanks. :)

dudex
11-02-2007, 01:34 AM
Yeah... this is just obscene.

The QT3 installer says
The Qt library is now built in ./lib
The Qt examples are built in the directories in ./examples
The Qt tutorials are built in the directories in ./tutorial

Enjoy! - the Trolltech team then the SEQ compiler says
error: Please verify your Qt devel install! I went back to the qt window and typed "make install" just for the hell of it; it did some more stuff then finished... SEQ compiler gave the same error.

Okay, I now I gotta know. How the heck did tanner ever get it to compile for his premade installer packages? :|

Carpathian
11-02-2007, 05:37 AM
You still need to manually configure your enviroment variables. After this, if Qt is setup properly, you should be able to to run: qmake --version



2. Set some environment variables in the file .profile (or .login,
depending on your shell) in your home directory. Create the
file if it is not there already.
QTDIR - the directory in which you're building Qt
PATH - to locate the moc program and other Qt tools
MANPATH - to access the Qt man pages
LD_LIBRARY_PATH - for the shared Qt library
Note that under IRIX the additional LD_LIBRARYN32_PATH and
LD_LIBRARY64_PATH variables are used for specifying library
search paths. Set the variable that matches your configuration, or
see the rld(5) man page for more information.
On AIX set LIBPATH and on HP-UX set SHLIB_PATH instead of LD_LIBRARY_PATH.
This is done like this:
In .profile (if your shell is bash, ksh, zsh or sh), add the
following lines:
QTDIR=/usr/local/qt
PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$PATH
MANPATH=$QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export QTDIR PATH MANPATH LD_LIBRARY_PATH
In .login (in case your shell is csh or tcsh), add the following lines:
setenv QTDIR /usr/local/qt
setenv PATH $QTDIR/bin:$PATH
setenv MANPATH $QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
setenv LD_LIBRARY_PATH $QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
After you have done this, you will need to login again, or
re-source the profile before continuing, so that at least $QTDIR
and $PATH are set. Without these the installation will halt with an error
message.
Note that the SGI MIPSpro o32 and Sun WorkShop 5.0 targets are no
longer supported as of Qt 3.3.

cann
11-02-2007, 05:44 AM
Ubuntu 6.x / 7.x

Make sure you have main , universe , restricted and multiverse enabled under repositories in synaptic package manager

open console and do the following


sudo su apt-get update
sudo su apt-get install qt3-apps-dev qt3-assistant qt3-designer qt3-dev-tools qt3-doc qt3-dev-tools-compat qt3-dev-tools-embedded qt3-examples
qt3-qtconfig libqt3-headers libqt3-mt libqt3-mt-dev libpcap0.8 libpcap0.8-dev
Might need this fix for pcap :


sudo nano /usr/include/pcap.h Change


int pcap_lookupnet(char *, bpf_u_int32 *, bpf_u_int32 *, char *); To


int pcap_lookupnet(const char *, bpf_u_int32 *, bpf_u_int32 *, char *); Fetch the latest release here (http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=10131&package_id=13256&release_id=496194) . Uncompress it and change in to the directory


tar xjvf showeq-5.9.1.0.tar.bz2
cd showeq-5.9.1.0
Get the changes made by purple and ieatacid here (http://www.showeq.net/forums/showpost.php?p=42370&postcount=41) and uncompress it in the showEQ dir overwriting the existant files


mv changes.tgz.zip ./changes.tgz
tar zxvf changes.tgz
Compile showEQ


./configure
make
make install /cann

note : might not need all those qt3 packages, i just grabed the ones i felt i needed

dudex
11-02-2007, 10:39 AM
Thanks a ton for that, cann!

Since I installed QT4 before QT3 last night, I thought I'd just wipe my Ubuntu install and start over. First, I installed the 129 updates, then:


Make sure you have main , universe , restricted and multiverse enabled under repositories in synaptic package managerVerified.


open console and do the following

sudo su apt-get update
sudo su apt-get install qt3-apps-dev qt3-assistant qt3-designer qt3-dev-tools qt3-doc qt3-dev-tools-compat qt3-dev-tools-embedded qt3-examples
qt3-qtconfig libqt3-headers libqt3-mt libqt3-mt-dev libpcap0.8 libpcap0.8-devNow, I got "Unknown id: apt-get" when I typed that first line; I was already logged in as root so I simply did "apt-get [packages]."

They installed way too fast, but I verified each one was installed by re-pasting the above lines:

qt3-apps-dev is already the newest version.
qt3-assistant is already the newest version.
qt3-designer is already the newest version.
qt3-dev-tools is already the newest version.
[etc]

Onwards:


Might need this fix for pcap :

sudo nano /usr/include/pcap.h

Change

int pcap_lookupnet(char *, bpf_u_int32 *, bpf_u_int32 *, char *

To

int pcap_lookupnet(const char *, bpf_u_int32 *, bpf_u_int32 *, char *);When opening /usr/include/pcap.h, this line didn't need to be changed (it was already as stated on your update).


Fetch the latest release here (http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=10131&package_id=13256&release_id=496194) . Uncompress it and change in to the directory

tar xjvf showeq-5.9.1.0.tar.bz2
cd showeq-5.9.1.0

Get the changes made by purple and ieatacid here (http://www.showeq.net/forums/showpost.php?p=42370&postcount=41) and uncompress it in the showEQ dir overwriting the existant filesDone and done;


Compile showEQ

./configure
make
make installI got the same c++ error as I did last night, so I quickly installed http://packages.ubuntu.com/feisty/devel/g++ and did ./configure again. Now, I get the "something wicked" error (mentioned in http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthread.php?t=5762):


checking for Qt... yes
>> Found version.: 3.3.7
>>> Headers......: /usr/include/qt3/
>>>> Libraries...: /usr/lib/
>>>> Documentation...: Unable to locate?!?
configure: WARNING: Qt documenation not installed?!
configure: error: Something wicked happened while trying to validate your Qt installation!!! Please verify your libraries... The other guy's solution was to install 100 megs of crap, just like I did last night, which clearly didn't work. I figured rather than jump the gun and bloat my OS with unneeded files, I'd post my results and wait patiently. ;)

I verified that qt3-doc is indeed installed. Not sure what else to look for.


Carpathian -- results of "qmake --version" are as follows:

Qmake version: 1.07a (Qt 3.3.7)
Qmake is free software from Trolltech AS.Is that... uhh, good?

There was no .profile or .login file in my "home" folder for me to edit. Even though I thought it might be the wrong approach, I created one of each, in "home" (not "home/user," simply "home").

The contents of .profile are as follows:
QTDIR=/usr/local/qt
PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$PATH
MANPATH=$QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export QTDIR PATH MANPATH LD_LIBRARY_PATH
.login contains:
setenv QTDIR /usr/local/qt
setenv PATH $QTDIR/bin:$PATH
setenv MANPATH $QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
setenv LD_LIBRARY_PATH $QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
One last thing; I've attached my config.log file.

purple
11-02-2007, 11:19 AM
From the config.log you attached:



configure:24334: g++ -o conftest -g -O2 -I/usr/include/qt3 -I. -L/usr/lib -L/usr/lib conftest.cpp -lqt-mt -lpng -lz -lm -lXext -lX11 >&5
conftest.cpp:5:18: error: qapp.h: No such file or directory
conftest.cpp:6:22: error: qobjcoll.h: No such file or directory


Configure is finding qt3 in /usr/include/qt3:


checking for Qt... yes
>> Found version.: 3.3.7
>>> Headers......: /usr/include/qt3/
>>>> Libraries...: /usr/lib/


Is qt actually there? What does ls -al /usr/include/qt3 say? From your other stuff, it looks like qt may be in /usr/local/qt. Or is that your qt4?

dudex
11-02-2007, 11:37 AM
There are 303 files in /usr/include/qt3.

There is no "qt" folder in /usr/local.

Results of command in terminal window:
root@ubuntage:~# -al /usr/include/qt3
Usage: command-not-found [options] <command-name>

command-not-found: error: no such option: -a
bash: -al: command not found QT4 no longer exists - last night I deleted the partition and installed a fresh, new Ubuntu.

dudex
11-02-2007, 12:34 PM
Okay, I re-downloaded the file Carpathian linked earlier - ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt-x11-free-3.3.8.tar.gz - did ./configure then /usr/bin/make as instructed.

After make completed, the following appeared:
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/Desktop/qtx/examples/desktop'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/Desktop/qtx/examples'

The Qt library is now built in ./lib
The Qt examples are built in the directories in ./examples
The Qt tutorials are built in the directories in ./tutorial

Enjoy! - the Trolltech team
./configure in the showeq folder gave the same Qt doc error.

Is QT3 done installing, or do I need to "make install" it as well? Have all the packages I downloaded/installed earlier been overwritten by this process?

dudex
11-02-2007, 05:49 PM
Farked around with the .login and .profile files again - this time I found where to put them.

Making progress?


checking for Qt... yes
>> Found version.: 3.3.7
>>> Headers......: /usr/share/qt3/include/
>>>> Libraries...: /usr/share/qt3/lib/
>>>> Documentation...: /usr/share/qt3/doc/html/
configure: error: Something wicked happened while trying to validate your Qt installation!!! Please verify your libraries...Yeah, I dunno. I went into the /usr/share/qt3/doc/html/ folder and there's a ton of stuff there, I have no idea what the compiler's problem is... why does documentation really matter anyway?

dudex
11-04-2007, 12:55 AM
Well, I threw in the towel. ;)

Deleted Ubuntu, installed Debian, got a couple packages, and whammo - compiled, runs.

Sorry for wasting your time, guys. I really appreciated your help, though. :)

Whizzie Wiz
11-06-2007, 05:27 AM
The key thing that causes it to fail the "docs" check is that a package qt3-dev-compat is needed because SEQ's configure seems to be looking for qapp.h when it's called qapplication.h in qt3.

(I have got it built and running under Ubuntu. I did install a lot of random qt packages before I spotted the problem -- I'll try again on a vanilla install soon to see if I can pin it down better).

tanner
11-07-2007, 01:26 AM
http://faq.eqenchanters.org/index.php?action=artikel&cat=383683&id=51&artlang=en

I also believe my .sig still has appropriate info.

Whizzie Wiz
11-07-2007, 03:33 AM
I believe I tried that, and it didn't work for me. The directory structure on your file server appears to have changed.

brainiac
11-08-2007, 04:53 PM
add this to your /etc/apt/source.list


deb-src ftp://ftp.real-time.com/linux/real-time sid main

Tellos
04-30-2008, 12:23 PM
After much seaching and trying various solutions found around the forums I'm going to post.

Im exactly where Dudex was before he gave up and changed distros.
checking for Qt... yes
>> Found version.: 3.3.8b
>>> Headers......: /usr/include/qt3/
>>>> Libraries...: /usr/lib/
>>>> Documentation...: Unable to locate?!?
configure: WARNING: Qt documenation not installed?!
configure: error: Something wicked happened while trying to validate your Qt installation!!! Please verify your libraries...
Although I dont have the luxury of doing that right now, I gotta get this working with Ubuntu ( 8.04 now ).

Also the link in tanner's sig ( Bob's projects page ) doesnt work anymore it seems.

EDIT: I should also mention I can get the ./configure to work with by using ./configure --without-qt-validation but then I get a load of errors in the make regarding qt3, so its obviously still an issue with me.

tano
06-14-2008, 01:16 PM
Hi all

Hopefully this will help somebody in the future. I had the same problem as Tellos and others on Debian Etch. Looking in the config.log I could see:

qapp.h: No such file or directory
qobjcoll.h: No such file or directory

I searched around a bit on google and found it was due to not having the libqt3-compat-headers package. Ran "apt-get install libqt3-compat-headers" and voila, configure worked perfectly - bar the warning about QT Docs not being installed, worked out this is a red herring and nothing to do with the configure script not working.

ieatacid
07-02-2008, 10:06 PM
I got SEQ working on Ubuntu 8.04 using the info in this thread and I also had to install a libpcap package. Just FYI in case anyone else decides to try.

ieatacid
07-04-2008, 03:48 PM
This used to work on Fefora but doesn't seem to on Ubuntu:

#!/bin/bash

xset -dpms s off
showeq
xset -dpms s on

This would keep the monitor from going into screensaver or powersave mode while showeq was running. Any changes I need to make to get the same effect in Ubuntu?