PDA

View Full Version : SVN updated with historical versions

bonkersbobcat
01-19-2008, 01:42 PM
I got access to SVN (thanks Ratt), so I have back-checked in the versions that I had tarballs for (5.10, 5.11, 5.11.1, and 5.12). SVN is now current with the latest released version. As of right now, this version does not work against live.

BB

BlueAdept
01-20-2008, 09:06 AM
Thanks.

Now I just have to learn how to use it.

Any chance you might post in the developer forum how to use it for me and acid?

ieatacid
01-20-2008, 03:08 PM
And if so, can someone PM me that since I don't have access to that forum area? :o

bonkersbobcat
01-20-2008, 08:21 PM
I am no SVN expert, but here is what I have been doing...

NOTE: These instructions are for developers. They will get you the latest version of the SEQ code, but that version may not work. If you have write access to SVN (you probably don't) these instructions will show you how commit your changes to SEQ in SVN. If you are not a developer, it is probably best for you to wait for an announcement that a new tarball has been posted.

I assume that you have installed SVN on your machine.

SVN maintains a thing called a repository on the server which contains all the checked in versions of files for a project. The first thing you must do is to make a local copy of these files on your machine. This is done with the SVN "checkout" checkout command:

svn checkout https://seq.svn.sf.net/svnroot/seq/showeq/trunk

The "seq.svn.sf.net" portion is the address of the sourceforge SVN server, the "svnroot/seq/showeq" is the path to our project within sourceforge, and "trunk" is the directory or branch in the repository tree that contains the files being actively developed.

When you issue this command a "trunk" subdirectory will be created on your machine which will contain the SEQ project plus a couple of hidden SVN control directories.