PDA

View Full Version : 3-19-09 patch build via cmake available



tanner
03-20-2009, 11:19 PM
I've merge the 3-19-09 patch into the cmake build branch on launchpad. Looking for people to test out builds.

Thanks.


Showeq cmake code, instructions how to download it, whiteboard, and revision history:
https://code.launchpad.net/~showeq-team/showeq/cmake

Building:
https://answers.launchpad.net/showeq/+question/58962

Bugs:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/showeq

Please do not bother the upstream developers with issues on this branch. Use the above bug tracker and I'll work the problems I can and will push issues to upstream that aren't related to the cmake build.

Answer (FAQ):
https://answers.launchpad.net/showeq

Wanna help? Come check out the showeq-team on launchpad:
https://launchpad.net/~showeq-team

bonkersbobcat
03-22-2009, 03:54 PM
I did a fresh pull from launchpad per posted instructions and it doesn't seem to build. I fails out with a a 'PKGDATADIR' not declared in this scope.

I had this problem last time I tried this and was able to get around it by removing references to PKGDATADIR in the code. I thought I saw posts that this had been corrected. Has this been corrected and should I be able to just build with the following?


$ bzr branch lp:~showeq-team/showeq/cmake
Branched 18 revision(s). # Make sure it's revision 18 -or- higher
$ cd cmake
$ cmake .
-- Version: 5.13.0.0 # Version will change for each release
-- DATA_INSTALL_DIR: /usr/local/share/showeq
-- PKGDATADIR: /usr/local/share/showeq # Did PKGDATADIR get set?
-- showeq is used as APPLICATION_NAME
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
<snip>
$ make

tanner
03-22-2009, 11:45 PM
I did a fresh pull from launchpad per posted instructions and it doesn't seem to build. I fails out with a a 'PKGDATADIR' not declared in this scope.

Instead of a 'cmake .', try a 'cmake -i', say "no" to the advanced options. And pick-n-choice your default settings for the other entries.

Think of 'cmake -i' like configure --prefix= but interactive.

I've posted to cmake user list asking about this issue. It is also related to purple's complaint that my name is all over the patch. Everything I've read says to do 'cmake .', but if you are over-whelmed by all the options, I've found a 'cmake -i < /dev/null' and then 'make' work fine.

What OS are you build on?

brainiac
03-23-2009, 11:14 AM
for some reason, when I get that error, I just run cmake again and it seems to clear it up. Does that work for you?

tanner
03-23-2009, 03:47 PM
I've talked with the cmake user community and found out that the preferred way of building projects via cmake it using Out-of-source build (http://wiki.qgis.org/qgiswiki/Building_with_CMake#head-7c8ef3324d1c0699ead6742ffadca8ed3eed8974).

I've made a branch to test and would like to see if this new build strategy resolves the 'PKGDATADIR' not declared in this scope and the "running cmake 2 times" issues.

It -does- resolve purple's complaint about "my name" all over the patches. Pretty neat stuff to keep all the build/temp files out of the source directory.



$ bzr branch http://bazaar.frostmage.org/showeq/out-of-source-build
$ cd out-of-source-build/build
$ cmake ..
<snip>
-- Version: 5.13.3.0
-- DATA_INSTALL_DIR: /usr/local/share/showeq
-- PKGDATADIR: /usr/local/share/showeq
$ make