PDA

View Full Version : Crash when Compile qt-2.3.2 Details inside

anonspammer
03-23-2002, 09:27 PM
These are the steps i followed form hackersquest:
At the last point where I did make my PC froze up.
I have a Bad CPU that sometimes will lock up.
Problem is now when I go back in to run MAKE I get errors.
not sure how to copy the error here
I have ran Make clean but cannot run configure.
I am VERY new to linux and dont know jack about programming but am learning.

How do I get to the point where I can recompile this?
I can do the rest of the steps but This part will not complete and im sure that the Compile did not complete but was probably near completion.

I also attempeted to remove the usr/lib/qt-2.3.2/ and re extract it and redo make didnt work so im assuming there is another area that I need to remove the compiled info that didnt finish. Im running Red hat 7.2

on a side not I cannot log into KDE which is what I had running at the time, I can access GNOME just fine, and can access my console. any info would be appreciated

>>>>>>.) Download qt-2.3.2 at ftp.trolltech.com (ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt-x11-2.3.2.tar.gz) and extract it to /usr/lib/qt-3.0.1 (cp qt-x11-2.3.2.tar.gz /usr/lib/ ; cd /usr/lib ; tar zxvf qt-x11-2.3.2.tar.gz)

Code:

cd /usr/lib/
wget ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt-x11-2.3.2.tar.gz
tar zxvf qt-x11-2.3.2.tar.gz

2a.) edit the file "qt-src/configs/linux-g++-shared (pico -w configs/linux-g++-shared) and change all references to "gcc" to "gcc3" as well as "g++" to "g++3" (lines 3, 4, 35, and 59). save your changes (ctrl-o, ctrl-x)

Code:

pico -w /usr/lib/qt-2.3.2/configs/linux-g++-shared

2b.) "export QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt-2.3.2" then configure and compile qt-2.3.2 with the -thread option (./configure -thread ; make). you can use "make -j2" to possibly speed up compile, and if you have 2 cpus use "make -j3"