PDA

View Full Version : Error on make updating



Eryl Flynn
03-24-2002, 12:19 AM
Using RH 7.2 and had SEQ working fine. Ran the CVS update, set up export lines, but make fails.

/bin/sh ../libtool --mode=link g++3 -D_REENTRANT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1 -DDISPLAY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -o sortitem sortitem.o util.o -L/usr/lib/qt-2.3.1/lib -lqt-mt -lpthread -rpath /usr/lib/qt-2.3.1/lib -rpath /usr/X11R6/lib -lEQ -lgdbm -lz -lpcap
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lqt-mt
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [showeqitemdbtool] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
g++3 -D_REENTRANT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1 -DDISPLAY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -o sortitem sortitem.o util.o -L/usr/lib/qt-2.3.1/lib -lqt-mt -lpthread -lEQ /usr/lib/libgdbm.so -lz -lpcap -Wl,--rpath -Wl,/usr/lib/qt-2.3.1/lib -Wl,--rpath -Wl,/usr/X11R6/lib
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lqt-mt
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [sortitem] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq'
make: *** [all-recursive-am] Error 2

That is the fail message I get. As I said, I am updating. I have installed SEQ successfully on 2 machines, and updated them both once before, I am not sure what is going on since I am a linux n00b.

Reiger
03-24-2002, 03:47 AM
Ack, I thought I was alone with this problem. Encounted this under a new install of mandrake 8.2 and self compiled qt. I think the key lies in "/usr/bin/ld cannot find -lqt-mt".

Looking at the man pages ld is a linker that comes at the last part of a compile, so at least we got this far, now I have no clue.

Any help someone out there has would be appreciated. Thanks.

Cryonic
03-24-2002, 11:51 AM
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lqt-mt
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

That is definitely the key line. ld cannot find your qt libs that were compiled with -thread option. Did you reset up your shell variables before rebuilding?

cvs -z3 update

#insert shell variables here

make -f Makefile.dist
./configure && make && make install

Eryl Flynn
03-24-2002, 01:43 PM
if you are talking export statements ya, same ones I used on initial compile.

So that line says it is having problems accessing or finding QT?

Zaphod
03-24-2002, 02:14 PM
Actually, from the "-L/usr/lib/qt-2.3.1/lib -lqt-mt -lpthread -rpath /usr/lib/qt-2.3.1/lib" in your make output, I would very much doubt it. You have apparently not set the QTDIR environment variable, and possibly have not adjusted your PATH environment variable as well.

Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)

Eryl Flynn
03-24-2002, 05:01 PM
Must have mistyped my export statement some how, tried it today, was very careful with it and it worked. Didn't think my fingers were that big. Thanks.