PDA

View Full Version : ShowEQ mini guide



dkissick986
05-27-2022, 08:47 AM
This is my mini-guide on how I got this working. My setup is a single machine, using Linux Mint 19 in a VMWare Workstation Player running ShowEQ 6.2.5. Make sure that when you add the Network Adapter you set it to bridged, not NAT.

Credit also to this post from which I pulled some info: http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthread.php?7631-ShowEQ-6-1-1-on-Linux-Mint-20-1

I like to work from my Desktop (just habit) and I always create a fresh folder for showEQ there:



cd Desktop
mkdir seq


I installed the following, and only the following packages:



sudo apt install build-essential
sudo apt install libpcap0.8-dev
sudo apt install zlib1g-dev
sudo apt install libqt4-dev
sudo apt install libtool
sudo apt install libx11-dev
sudo apt install libxext-dev
sudo apt install libpng-dev
sudo apt install libice-dev


SVN wasn't working for me properly, so I just downloaded the tarball with wget:



wget https://sourceforge.net/projects/seq/files/ShowEQ/Showeq-6.2.5/showeq-6.2.5.tar.bz2


Extract the tarball:



tar -xvf showeq-6.2.5.tar.bz2


Go into the showeq directory:



cd showeq-6.2.5


Configure



sudo ./configure


Make



sudo make


Make install



sudo make install


Provide ownership of the /usr/local/share/showeq folder. Put in your username where it says <username> without the brackets:



sudo chown -R <username>:<username> /usr/local/share/showeq


Run the following command to see what the name of your NIC is. In my case it was 'ens33'



ifconfig


Running showEQ:



cd /usr/local/bin
sudo ./showeq -i ens33


Hopefully this guide can help some Linux amateurs (such as myself) get ShowEQ running!

BlueAdept
05-27-2022, 05:09 PM
Thanks

Loki
05-29-2022, 09:22 PM
Just to add this info if you want to patch last month's ShowEQ with newby's patch and svn or tarball is not updated yet.

Download the patch file from newby's post to your home ~/ directory (can be anywhere else). X.X.X is last offical ShowEQ release version. XXXXXX is the date of patch by newby.

cd /path/to/showeq-X.X.X
patch -p0 < ~/diffs-XXXXXX.txt
make distclean
./configure
make
sudo make install

You should download the new tarball and recompile when it's released as there's some missing opcodes that would be added in by cn187.

Flairchild
08-31-2023, 06:27 PM
Followed this step by step on a physical computer and not a VM as the original post and it works like a hot damn ! Thanks dkissick986 for this and the original thread for Linux Mint.

My Linux skills are near non-existent but to pass on some of my experience to the next newb trying to install showeq..

- I used Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon https://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=254
- Created a bootable USB drive using Rufus https://rufus.ie/en/ and the ISO I downloaded from the first link.
- Followed every step from the top post, and only the steps they listed.
- Downloaded Brewalls Maps https://www.eqmaps.info/wp-content/uploads/2023/06/brewall-20230623.zip and extracted the zip into my Home>Downloads
- Downloaded the converter to convert the maps for Showeq https://www.showeq.net/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=868&d=1691079719 , just unzip it and put it in the Brewalls maps folder and execute it.
- I copy/pasted al the maps and everything I just converted into /usr/local/share/showeq/maps (the folder has permissions ? sudo chmod -R 777 ./ in the show eq maps folder, probably not the way but it worked)

I tried to used port mirroring on my switch and ShowEQ just wouldn't work, try as I might I couldn't get it to function. I purchased an Ethernet HUB from Craigslist to $10 and BAM!, in business.

To run showeq I use the command sudo ./showeq eno2 --ip-address=192.168.1.110 (eno2 being your ethernet adapter, type ifconfig to get this info, and the IP address of your EQ machine)

Thanks to everyone and the hundreds of posts I sifted through that people took the time to post, I tried numerous builds and this worked the best :)

Scrapper
09-22-2023, 03:04 AM
Followed this step by step on a physical computer and not a VM as the original post and it works like a hot damn ! Thanks dkissick986 for this and the original thread for Linux Mint.

My Linux skills are near non-existent but to pass on some of my experience to the next newb trying to install showeq..

- I used Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon https://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=254
- Created a bootable USB drive using Rufus https://rufus.ie/en/ and the ISO I downloaded from the first link.
- Followed every step from the top post, and only the steps they listed.
- Downloaded Brewalls Maps https://www.eqmaps.info/wp-content/uploads/2023/06/brewall-20230623.zip and extracted the zip into my Home>Downloads
- Downloaded the converter to convert the maps for Showeq https://www.showeq.net/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=868&d=1691079719 , just unzip it and put it in the Brewalls maps folder and execute it.
- I copy/pasted al the maps and everything I just converted into /usr/local/share/showeq/maps (the folder has permissions ? sudo chmod -R 777 ./ in the show eq maps folder, probably not the way but it worked)

I tried to used port mirroring on my switch and ShowEQ just wouldn't work, try as I might I couldn't get it to function. I purchased an Ethernet HUB from Craigslist to $10 and BAM!, in business.

To run showeq I use the command sudo ./showeq eno2 --ip-address=192.168.1.110 (eno2 being your ethernet adapter, type ifconfig to get this info, and the IP address of your EQ machine)

Thanks to everyone and the hundreds of posts I sifted through that people took the time to post, I tried numerous builds and this worked the best :)


I just want to report that I bought a cheap, managed switch from Amazon (Netgear GS308E, about $40), and was able to use the port mirroring to get showeq to work quite easily. I already had an 8-port unmanaged switch, so I just swapped it for the managed one, then it was just a matter of mirroring my game machine to my machine running Fedora 38.

I want to use SEQ to debug a performance problem I am having during raids. I seem to be getting my gina triggers much later than other people, so I'm trying to figure out if the trigger message is making it across the wire long before Gina triggers on it, or if the problem lies elsewhere.

Newby
09-22-2023, 04:02 PM
Gina lag is typically caused by your log file growing too large. Make sure you clean out your log file regularly, like every session.

Scrapper
09-23-2023, 02:52 AM
Thanks for the tip, but yeah, we are doing that before every raid event.