PDA

View Full Version : Complete frickin n00b here, could use a hand.

redpoint13
03-25-2002, 06:07 PM
Im really quick with computers, but i have never really messed around with linux. Could really use a little help if anyone out there would be so kind.

My aim is redpoint13
ICQ 47806440

for help i can trade some software or good movies n stuff if ya want!!!

thanks!

redpoint13
03-25-2002, 10:20 PM
k i guess ill just ask the questions.

1) Where do i download ShowEq (i must be retarded but i cant find the link)

2) where can i get a good compiler

3) i have minimal c++ experience, will i be able to do this?

4) i am using mandrake 8.2 i think (newest one), is that ok?

5) how hard do you think it will be for me since i have no linux experience and little c++ experience?!

thanks

fryfrog
03-25-2002, 11:32 PM
try here (http://www.hackersquest.org/boards/viewtopic.php?t=275)

redpoint13
03-26-2002, 12:02 AM
i read that whole thing, i got the q1-2.3.2.tar.gz and finished the tutorial, well most of it, it might as well have been in spanish heh. Could really use some 1 on 1 help on a chat program if anyone can assist.

ill keep trying to figure it out on my own time too, but thanks for your help.

Thanks

fyodorst
03-26-2002, 12:29 AM
just post the errors and any questions... there are some of us here that are humble enough to remember what it's like to be learning (and we all still should be if you think you know everything you are an arrogant fool)...

high_jeeves
03-26-2002, 12:39 AM
Also try searching the boards... the majority of the questions you may come up with have been asked and answered already. You might find answers more quickly, and irritate fewer people by doing searches before you post any problems you may have..

Good luck...

--Jeeves

Mr Guy
03-26-2002, 07:03 AM
You
A) found the right forum
B) read the guide first

You are doing pretty well for a complete 'n00b'. Just ask specific questions like they said and we'll help. Honest.

redpoint13