PDA

View Full Version : Installing showeq <rant and need help>

pxlplukr
03-30-2002, 06:35 PM
well i finally had to update show eq. last time <pre QT3> i struggeled but finally got it to work. i am pretty new to the compilling stuff. but this one has screewed me BIG time. Redhat 7.2 does not like my pc and I do not like 7.2 either. but, I installed it and tried to install the new showeq. i have followed every direction i can find. the last direction were very detailed and seemed to word. ie It compiled ok. was really big though (11 megs> but it never ran. click on it and poof nothing. format and install 7.1 find all the files and install. i get thousands of errors saying something about qt2. i dont think that is right. but i stalled the 7.1 rpms corectly. /RANT/ why cant we is it so hard to install these files. i have formated 4 times now and cant get it to work. i am a noob but not completely inepet. i can folow directions this sucks. you guys sdo a great job. but damn its very frustraiting. on a fresh install it should always work !!!!!
please help!!!

Cryonic
03-30-2002, 11:57 PM
No it shouldn't. If it was so easy that any Windows luser could do it then we would have problems with too many people using it who wouldn't use it responsibly. As it stands now, if you have the brains to get it installed and working (both linux and SEQ), then you are less likely to abuse what you have.

And why are you formatting and reinstalling, this is linux, not Windows. Reinstalling won't fix the problem unlike in the Windows world.

fryfrog
03-31-2002, 02:13 AM
it might be likely that you have not compiled qt-2.3.2 using gcc3 and perhaps you might not be compiling showeq with it either.

S_B_R
03-31-2002, 03:22 PM
Originally posted by pxlplukr