PDA

View Full Version : I admit I'm new to this program but read on this will be relatively painless...

Smog
04-01-2002, 05:46 PM
I've got a few fairly simple questions that I hope someone can answer. It's important to keep in mind while reading this that I am by no means a computer novice. My first computer was a commodore Vic20 the C64 then apple II and on and on. I even had an amiga at one point (that was sweet) I do tech support for cable modems now. I have extensive experience with all versions of windows and MacOs. I have 3 computers at home. WinXP, Linux Mandrake and HPUX(its in the closet because it gave me a headache.) I DO NOT know Linux well. I've been looking for something to get me interested in it but until SEQ there was really any motivation for me to. So, now on to my questions.

#1. I'd like to know if you would recommend any novice guides to Linux that don't assume your a moron. I know what a "File" is etc... I just need to learn the commands and the logic behind it. And, yes, I have searched on the web and found guides but I'm looking for recommendations from experienced users.

#2. Am I correct in thinking that there are many more users and developers working on SEQ than SIN? Sin seems MUCH easier to install but I don't want to be on the wrong bandwagon... lol

#3. Why hasn't anyone compiled a list of working Hubs and put it on the website? I had to spend 2 hours searching through these forums to figure out what I needed. lol

#4. Regarding the previous question, most average users aren't going to have the 7 computer setups and dozens of nics etc... that a lot of you guys have. Most will have a simple set up like mine, 2 box's going into a Linksys 4port switch/router on a cable modem. Is there a way to setup the Router to broadcast or duplicate the ports? There are a ton of options in the control menu for my router that do all kinds of things that I don't understand.