Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Updating Patches/CVS... touch of help or pointers please

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    26

    Updating Patches/CVS... touch of help or pointers please

    Hello,

    I managed last week to fairly easily install the new ShowEQ 4.0.

    I read that Zaphod has updated the CVS tree. I would like to learn how to use the CVS system to update my files.

    Of course, it would be great if someone posted an idiot's guide, but I would like to rise above the level of the down-trodden... can someone point me to somewhere I can learn about how to accomplish the update and remake the install?

    Appreciate it.

    Trigger

  2. #2
    Registered User Zaphod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    648
    cd into the showeq source directory and do the following (example based on bash shell):
    Code:
    $ cd <yourdir>/showeq
    $ export CVSROOT=:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq
    $ cvs login
    $ cvs update
    $ make -f Makefile.dist
    Then make sure any environment variables you need to build ShowEQ are setup (CC, CXX, QTDIR, LD_LIBRARY_PATH, etc...).

    And then
    Code:
    $ ./configure
    $ make
    Enjoy,
    Zaphod (dohpaZ)
    Last edited by Zaphod; 01-03-2002 at 06:44 AM.
    Chief Software Engineer of the Apocalypse.
    http://showeq.doomed.to/
    SourceForge.net user: dohpaz.

    Personal thank you donations are now accepted.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    26
    Uhm... Zaphod are you and Angel?

    Worked perfectly.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    33
    A slight problem:

    Code:
    login as: root
    Sent username "root"
    [email protected]'s password:
    Last login: Thu Jan  3 04:46:20 2002 from 192.168.1.11
    [root@lbj /root]# cd showeq
    [root@lbj showeq]# export CVSROOT=:pserver:[email protected]:/cvs/root
    [root@lbj showeq]# cvs login
    (Logging in to [email protected])
    CVS password:
    cvs login: authorization failed: server cvs.seq.sourceforge.net rejected access to /cvs/root for user anonymous
    [root@lbj showeq]#
    How could I screw this up?
    My sig. It is a clever sig.

  5. #5
    Registered User Zaphod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    648
    a_corpse00, oops. there was a typo. substitute "/cvsroot/seq" where you see "/cvs/root". I"ve edited my earlier post to correct the path.

    Enjoy,
    Zaphod (dohpaZ)
    Chief Software Engineer of the Apocalypse.
    http://showeq.doomed.to/
    SourceForge.net user: dohpaz.

    Personal thank you donations are now accepted.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    33
    Thanks, Zaphod. But it appears that I've run into another snag (oi). It bombs out on libtool.
    Code:
    [root@lbj showeq]# ./configure
    (snip)
    checking if the linker (/usr/bin/ld) is GNU ld... (cached) yes
    checking for BSD-compatible nm... (cached) /usr/bin/nm -B
    ./ltconfig: ./ltconfig: No such file or directory
    configure: error: libtool configure failed
    [root@lbj showeq]# whereis libtool
    libtool: /usr/bin/libtool /usr/local/bin/libtool /usr/share/libtool
    [root@lbj showeq]# libtool --version
    ltmain.sh (GNU libtool) 1.4.2 (1.922.2.53 2001/09/11 03:18:52)
    [root@lbj showeq]#
    What could be the problem? I'm not quite adept enough to find a solution on my own...

    Edit 2: Removed foot from mouth. :Þ

    I "updated" libtool along with PHP this morning, so that's probably where the snafu is ... but the docs said seq should work with higher versions.
    Last edited by a_corpse00; 01-03-2002 at 09:35 AM.
    My sig. It is a clever sig.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    183
    ltconfig is autogenerated.... so that is kind of odd..

    might try deleting config.cache and running ./configure again and also check that you have plenty of disk space available and valid permissions to create/write files in your showeq directory.


    EDIT: if you changed the version of those tools probably need to re-run "make -f Makefile.dist" as well to regenerate the files using the new tools. I bet that is it.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    33
    Originally posted by Yendor
    EDIT: if you changed the version of those tools probably need to re-run "make -f Makefile.dist" as well to regenerate the files using the new tools. I bet that is it.
    The directory containing the source, maps, and all was rm'd and a new directory tree was created by cvs co showeq. I changed to the newly created showeq directory and did make -f Makefile.dist, then ./configure. That's where it bombed out above.

    Edit:
    Followed these steps--
    cd ~/showeq
    rm -rf showeq
    export CVSROOT=server:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq
    cvs login
    cvs co showeq
    cd showeq
    make -f Makefile.dist
    ./configure
    Bombs out, complaining about ./ltconfig.

    Last edited by a_corpse00; 01-03-2002 at 09:37 AM.
    My sig. It is a clever sig.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    17

    How often to update

    Just curious... How often should I be updating? I have seen a lot of changes being posted in the Annoucements section, and wanted to know if I should be updating my ShowEQ each time a post is made. I have noticed some changes are made and then the next day those changes are removed because of a problem.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On