Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Someone change libEQ search

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    183

    Someone change libEQ search

    I'd do this, but am lazy (and working on something else).

    In configure.in need to change the libEQ search from
    AC_CHECK_LIB(EQ, ProcessPacket,
    to
    AC_CHECK_LIB(EQ, InitializeLibEQ,

    Plus some extra text when it fails to suggest the problem.
    That should prevent it from trying to build against old libEQ.a versions.

    I don't have time to test it out and post a patch at the moment. But maybe this is enough to get someone else to do it .



    Maybe I will do it later if no one else submits a patch.

  2. #2
    Registered User Zaphod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    648
    Good idea Yendor. Any volunteers??? (I'm also kinda preoccupied with other stuff).

    Enjoy,
    Zaphod (dohpaZ)
    Chief Software Engineer of the Apocalypse.
    http://showeq.doomed.to/
    SourceForge.net user: dohpaz.

    Personal thank you donations are now accepted.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    411
    i have changed it, and made the error mesage a little more helpful in the event they have the wrong lib installed.
    casey AT trifocus DOT net

  4. #4
    Hoihoi
    Guest
    checking for InitializeLibEQ in -lEQ... no
    configure: error: libEQ.a not found or out of date. Be sure libEQ.a is already installed in /usr/local/lib or /usr/lib

    # md5sum /usr/lib/libEQ.a
    4e9d9772132fc63ea8860cc2fdb2905d /usr/lib/libEQ.a
    # md5sum /usr/local/lib/libEQ.a
    4e9d9772132fc63ea8860cc2fdb2905d /usr/local/lib/libEQ.a

    already a new libeq again or did this patch nothing good at all?

  5. #5
    Hoihoi
    Guest

    Unhappy

    sigh, double post (

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    33
    Is libEQ.a a+x ?

    $ chmod a+x /usr/lib/libEQ.a
    $ chmod a+x /usr/local/lib/libEQ.a

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    411
    post the last 20 lines or so from config.log, that'll help determine what he problem may be.

    are CC and CXX set so you are using g++ 3 ?

    i tested the confgure script to still work, and just re-did so. having the lines from your log will help.
    casey AT trifocus DOT net

  8. #8
    Hoihoi
    Guest
    no it wasn't but that shouldn't have mattered because i've been successful compiling till todays update. anyway, changed it to 0777 just in case and it didn't work either

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    411
    can you post the last 20-30 lines of config.log?
    casey AT trifocus DOT net

  10. #10
    Hoihoi
    Guest
    # tail -30 config.log
    #define ISLOWER(c) ('a' <= (c) && (c) <= 'z')
    #define TOUPPER(c) (ISLOWER(c) ? 'A' + ((c) - 'a') : (c))
    #define XOR(e, f) (((e) && !(f)) || (!(e) && (f)))
    int main () { int i; for (i = 0; i < 256; i++)
    if (XOR (islower (i), ISLOWER (i)) || toupper (i) != TOUPPER (i)) exit(2);
    exit (0); }

    configure:7877: checking for deque.h
    configure:7887: g++3 -E conftest.C >/dev/null 2>conftest.out
    configure:7916: checking for size_t
    configure:7950: checking whether to build with decryption
    configure:8014: checking for InitializeLibEQ in -lEQ
    configure:8036: g++3 -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lEQ -lz -lpthread -lgdbm -lz -lpcap 1>&5
    /tmp/ccWjoqgD.o: In function `main':
    /usr/local/src/showeq4/showeq/configure:8032: undefined reference to `InitializeLibEQ'
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    configure: failed program was:
    #line 8022 "configure"
    #include "confdefs.h"
    /* Override any gcc2 internal prototype to avoid an error. */
    #ifdef __cplusplus
    extern "C"
    #endif
    /* We use char because int might match the return type of a gcc2
    builtin and then its argument prototype would still apply. */
    char InitializeLibEQ();

    int main() {
    InitializeLibEQ()
    ; return 0; }

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    411
    hoihoi, i had some other people in irc test configure, and its working for them

    is it possible that your lib search path is encountering an old libEQ before a current one?

    find / -name libEQ.a -print

    i suggest running that, and then deleting all the libEQ.a's you find, and maintaining a single copy in /usr/lib
    casey AT trifocus DOT net

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On