Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Big in latest client

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    50

    Big in latest client

    Cavemanbob,
    When I go to change the settings in the latest client, when I click the OK button to save them, I get the following:

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.IO.IOException: The process cannot access the file "C:\Documents and Settings\Desktop\myseq\prefs.xml" because it is being used by another process.
    at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String str)
    at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, Boolean useAsync, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy)
    at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String path, FileMode mode)
    at myseq.Form1.savePrefs(String filename)
    at myseq.Form1.menuItem5_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.MenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.MenuItemData.Execute()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Command.Invoke()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmCommand(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Mes sage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Mess age& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage (Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(M essage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/microsoft.net/framework/v1.0.3705/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    myseq
    Assembly Version: 1.0.1201.35167
    Win32 Version: 1.0.1201.35167
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Desktop/myseq/myseq.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.windows.forms/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.windows.forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.drawing/1.0.3300.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Serialization.Formatters.Soap
    Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.runtime.serialization.formatters.soap/1.0.3300.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.runtime.serialization.formatters.soap.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.3705.288
    CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.xml/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just in time (JIT) debugging, the config file for this
    application or machine (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the machine
    rather than being handled by this dialog.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    50
    Also, happened after running the new version for the first time. If I click 'Continue' when the error window pops up, it saves the settings, and I can continue along.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    25
    I think he said that a temporary fix to this is to delete the preferences file and let the app recreate it next time you go in to change them.

  4. #4
    Registered User MrDoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    60
    The above information is correct.

    Cavemanbob verified this problem in a previous, and unrelated message.

    The problem only occurs when changing the client version.
    The current solutions is, as stated, to delete the prefs.xml file before you run the program the first time. You can then save it and all will be fine.
    Last edited by MrDoh; 04-17-2003 at 09:48 AM.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5
    LOL OMG, I can't belive how nice everyone is. This is a nice change from the Trolls and Flammers. I hope it lasts.


    -Gruefood

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    50
    Also, mobs are still on the spawn list, even after they are killed

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    426
    --> Also, mobs are still on the spawn list, even after they are killed

    Really annoying and old bug that is next up after the communications revamp. The worst part about it is that the mobs are being deleted from the list of mob data. they just stick in the listbox for some reason...

    The prefs.xml exception is caused by a really stupid bug. I didn't close the xml file if there was an exception while loading it, so the save function couldn't open it.


  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    50
    The error occurred first timie it was run on a fresh extraction to an empty directory, or I'd not have posted it

    CGEQ

  9. #9
    Registered User MrDoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    60
    Coolguyeq,

    That is probably still the same problem. Since the file didn't exist, there would be an error opening and parsing it, but since he still never asked for it to be closed, it couldn't write it fot the first time either.

    As with most of my posts, this is just a sheer guess. hehehe

    Mr. Doh

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    426
    It is related to the same bug, it shouldn't do that anymore in any following versions.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On