Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: So close! (yet so far...)

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1

    So close! (yet so far...)

    I have been following the instructions and everything has been going great.

    i am on the ./configure step for showeq. It keeps dying saying it can't find libEQ.a. I have verified that only one copy exists (and its the current one). It is currently in /usr/local/lib

    Do I need to update a path somewhere to include that directory?

    also, my libEQ.a file is only 58 bytes.. is that correct?

    thanks for any info!

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,262
    Your libEQ is not valid if it is only 58 bytes. Download one from a location specified in the README.libEQ in your download directory. Do an "md5sum libEQ.a" on the file you download, and make sure the output is the same at the md5sum listed on the top of the front page for these forums. That way you can guarantee that you have the version the developers have released for use with ShowEQ.

    -Jeeves

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    951
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 6786 Jan 22 20:17 libEQ.a

    no, that is not the right size for the libEQ.a. also, i'm not sure if /usr/local/lib is part of the library search path. i put mine in /usr/lib personally.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    11
    You need to make sure that gcc is symbolicly linked to gcc-3.0 and cpp is symboliclylinked to cpp-3.0 or ./configure will fail on libEQ.a

    cd /usr/bin
    rm gcc
    rm cpp
    ln -s gcc-3.0 gcc
    ln -s cpp-3.0 cpp

    Make sure you have cpp3 and gcc3 installed, which you should otherwise you shouldn't have gotten this far.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    849
    Originally posted by NoLiving
    You need to make sure that gcc is symbolicly linked to gcc-3.0 and cpp is symboliclylinked to cpp-3.0 or ./configure will fail on libEQ.a

    cd /usr/bin
    rm gcc
    rm cpp
    ln -s gcc-3.0 gcc
    ln -s cpp-3.0 cpp

    Make sure you have cpp3 and gcc3 installed, which you should otherwise you shouldn't have gotten this far.
    Um if his libEQ.a is only 58 bytes that definately one problem. Lets take this one step at a time, it's easier to follow that way.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    11
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 6786 Jan 22 20:17 libEQ.a

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    849
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    yeah Fryfrog already posted that... But Lokust said his libEQ.a was 58 bytes

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On