Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: segfaults arrggg

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    65

    segfaults arrggg

    Is anyone else segfaulting? arrggg... could someone tell me how to get some debugging info..

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    42
    I didn't have time to test, but I did get 1 segfault whan adding members to a group... Didn't have packet logging on, and didn't have it running in gdb. Sorry guys. Mabye get more info later today.

  3. #3
    Developer Ratt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    533
    There's a bug in the group code where if someone leaves your group, and then someone else joins, it will seg fault.

    I've been trying to track it down for a couple days now, but I can't seem to duplicate it on command every single time. It's one of those wretched intermittent things that drive you crazy.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    65

    not my problem :(

    dont think thats my problem.. I wasn't grouped when i was having the seg faults. Im gonna try gcc via RPM this time, perhaps my compile didn't work...

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    42
    Ratt,

    Would a backtrace be helpful with the group bug?

  6. #6
    Registered User Zaphod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    648
    For any crash bug a stack back trace and if possible the values of any obvious local variables would be helpful.

    Thanks and Enjoy,
    Zaphod (dohpaZ)
    Chief Software Engineer of the Apocalypse.
    http://showeq.doomed.to/
    SourceForge.net user: dohpaz.

    Personal thank you donations are now accepted.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    42
    It's happened twice tonight, once I had it in Kdevelop and got some of the variable info, but didn't save it... This time I've got the core file... I'll get more info next time.

    Here's a backtrace -- almost identical to the one I saw inside Kdevelop. (I removed my character name from the info in #3)

    #0 0x401722b1 in operator==(QString const&, QString const&) ()
    from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #1 0x08116388 in GroupMgr::handleGroupInfo(groupMemberStruct const*) (
    this=0x81b89d0, gmem=0xbfffe822) at spawn.h:150
    #2 0x0809558e in EQPacket::groupInfo(groupMemberStruct const*) (
    this=0x81a8fb0, t0=0xbfffe822) at m_packet.cpp:2583
    #3 0x0808f19d in EQPacket::dispatchZoneData(unsigned, unsigned char*, unsigned char) (this=0x81a8fb0, len=230, data=0xbfffe822 "&@<REMOVED>",
    direction=2 '\002') at packet.cpp:2603
    #4 0x0808e334 in EQPacket::decodePacket(int, unsigned char*) (this=0x81a8fb0,
    size=270, buffer=0xbfffe7fe "E") at packet.h:407
    #5 0x0808da14 in EQPacket::processPackets() (this=0x81a8fb0) at packet.cpp:748
    #6 0x4021e5fe in QObject::activate_signal(char const*) ()
    from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #7 0x4027c6e3 in QTimer::timeout() () from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #8 0x4025b613 in QTimer::event(QEvent*) ()
    from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #9 0x401d4d58 in QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
    from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #10 0x4019d7b4 in qt_activate_timers() () from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #11 0x4019b26c in QApplication::processNextEvent(bool) ()
    from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #12 0x401d7063 in QApplication::enter_loop() ()
    from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #13 0x4019ada4 in QApplication::exec() () from /usr/local/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.2
    #14 0x0805ed8c in main (argc=3, argv=0xbffff9c4) at main.cpp:946
    #15 0x40707627 in __libc_start_main (main=0x805c0e0 <main>, argc=3,
    ubp_av=0xbffff9c4, init=0x8058550 <_init>, fini=0x8120850 <_fini>,
    rtld_fini=0x4000dcc4 <_dl_fini>, stack_end=0xbffff9bc)
    at ../sysdeps/generic/libc-start.c:129

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    65

    how

    Im a newb when it comes to coding/debugging.. unless its sql.. anyhow.. can someone explain how to dump that info? I seg fault enough to go back to the 3.1.2 hacked up version for now..

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    42
    From your showeq/src directory...

    Run 'gdb'

    'file showeq'
    'core-file /full/path/and/filename/to/the/core.file'
    'bt'

    Should dump that backtrace...

  10. #10
    Registered User winseq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    39
    Any idea how to turn on core dumps?

    I remember wanting to turn these off a long time ago and since my seg faults don't generate core dumps, I imagine I succeeded...

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    59
    Try 'ulimit -c unlimited'.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On