Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 41

Thread: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    12

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueAdept View Post
    That is overkill. I used a pi4 with 4gb (just what I had on hand. It should work with less since the old worked on Pi3 with 1gb) and it works fine.
    I agree, but I wanted the 8g and $15 more I do not care. I am sure I get bored with this someday and move on, maybe build arcade system.

    Found it odd that is the only thing you saw on my post. I was hoping for more information. I guess to each is own.

    Can I use the Ubuntu Desktop image from the raspberry site ?
    Last edited by faster100%; 01-25-2021 at 05:50 PM.

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Of course it's overkill, but I thought it may be of interest to anyone else with the 8GB RAM version of the Pi4.

    These command line switches aren't necessary when using an updated config.guess file. I copied the file /usr/share/misc/config.guess into my svn checkout and ./configure proceeds without error.

    config.guess is provided by the autotools-dev package

  3. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    33

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by faster100% View Post
    I agree, but I wanted the 8g and $15 more I do not care. I am sure I get bored with this someday and move on, maybe build arcade system.

    Found it odd that is the only thing you saw on my post. I was hoping for more information. I guess to each is own.

    Can I use the Ubuntu Desktop image from the raspberry site ?
    Heya Overkill, I agree with you, there is no such thing as too fast or too much RAM, especially for $15 more. I was running an old dell laptop (e6420 with 8gb of ram) and the machine would take 4-5 minutes to make and build showeq. I did the same thing on the pi4 with 4GB of RAM and it takes at least 10 minutes. I"m not sure what the bottleneck is, i'm thinking its probably the microSD card depending on which one you get, i'm using the one that came with the pi. I'm not sure if it could be the CPU as i haven't researched what type of CPU it has. I built my new SEQ6 laptop on a Lenovo T440 I had laying around from work (16gb of ram I think) and SSD with good fast CPU and i can build showeq in about 70 seconds, which is pretty nice (even though you only have to do it once a month lol).

    But to answer some of your questions. I haven't been able to get showeq to work with any of the ubuntu images that you can flash on the Pi. I tried 20.10 (both desktop and server), 20.04.1 lts. The problem is not able to get QT4 installed since its no longer supported and removed from the official repositories. I tried adding the unofficial rock-core PPA and going that route, but I think the only version of ubuntu they have on there is for 20.04 and i couldn't get many of the qt4 packages, I think they only have one, and i couldn't get it to install. Can't get qt4-dev-tools, qt4-qmake, libqt4-declarative, etc. So I think ubuntu is probably out until SEQ7 gets here with QT5 support.

    You can use it on the version that comes with the pi though. I followed blue's instructions and got it working by these commands:

    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade
    apt-get install xdm x11-apps libx11-dev libvte9 qt4-default subversion libtool make automake libpcap-dev libxext-dev

    That last one I had to install, it complained that I didn't have it when I tried without it. The original updating and upgrading took a long time! I just let it run and walked away and when I came back it was done.

  4. #19
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,759

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by faster100% View Post
    I agree, but I wanted the 8g and $15 more I do not care. I am sure I get bored with this someday and move on, maybe build arcade system.

    Found it odd that is the only thing you saw on my post. I was hoping for more information. I guess to each is own.

    Can I use the Ubuntu Desktop image from the raspberry site ?
    I only tried the Raspbian. I included steps on how to get it to work in the first post. I didnt think I had to repeat them.

    Give Ubuntu a try and let us know of the results.

    Edit: Guess Ubuntu was tried and failed. There may be a 3rd party build QT4, just like the later raspberry pi 3b+ build for QT3. Ill look into it.
    Last edited by BlueAdept; 01-26-2021 at 09:33 AM.
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

  5. #20
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,759

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    For QT4 in Ubuntu, you can try to build this and see if it works. https://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/blfs/cong...c-4.5.3.tar.gz the QT3 version worked for Stretch on Pi3b+.
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

  6. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    12

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueAdept View Post
    For QT4 in Ubuntu, you can try to build this and see if it works. https://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/blfs/cong...c-4.5.3.tar.gz the QT3 version worked for Stretch on Pi3b+.

    Thank you so much. I am at work, so when I go home tonight let the fun start.

  7. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    12

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by kkmonte View Post
    Heya Overkill,
    I love that nickname, I am going to use it next time. : )

  8. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    12

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueAdept View Post
    I only tried the Raspbian. I included steps on how to get it to work in the first post. I didnt think I had to repeat them.
    The thing is, I cannot find where to download Raspbian. Is this the name of the image? I see where to go, but once I go the site. I do not see Raspbian image anywhere.

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    33

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by faster100% View Post
    The thing is, I cannot find where to download Raspbian. Is this the name of the image? I see where to go, but once I go the site. I do not see Raspbian image anywhere.
    go here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/software/

    then download the pi imager, i installed it on my windows workstation (they have different versions for different OS's). Then i inserted another microsd card in my computer (i bought a cheapy usb card reader) and you select the OS and select the drive (it formats the drive so choose carefully) and hit go. It takes a little while to download the image and then create the bootable card but not too bad. They have all different varieties to choose from.

  10. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    12

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by kkmonte View Post
    go here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/software/

    then download the pi imager, i installed it on my windows workstation (they have different versions for different OS's). Then i inserted another microsd card in my computer (i bought a cheapy usb card reader) and you select the OS and select the drive (it formats the drive so choose carefully) and hit go. It takes a little while to download the image and then create the bootable card but not too bad. They have all different varieties to choose from.
    I did that, and I do not see any files that says Raspbian on the list.

  11. #26
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,759

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Go to https://downloads.raspberrypi.org/imager/imager_1.5.exe download the imager. In the menu select Rasbian. If it is not in there, they renamed it to Raspberry Pi OS. It says it right on the front page of raspberrypi.org.

    Your Raspberry Pi needs an operating system to work. This is it. Raspberry Pi OS (previously called Raspbian) is our official supported operating system.
    Last edited by BlueAdept; 01-27-2021 at 08:14 AM.
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

  12. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    12

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueAdept View Post
    Go to https://downloads.raspberrypi.org/imager/imager_1.5.exe download the imager. In the menu select Rasbian. If it is not in there, they renamed it to Raspberry Pi OS. It says it right on the front page of raspberrypi.org.

    Your Raspberry Pi needs an operating system to work. This is it. Raspberry Pi OS (previously called Raspbian) is our official supported operating system.

    Thanks I got showeq installed now. It did help knowing the name of the OS, lol.

  13. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    12

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    I finally got the 5-port hub from Amazon, and ShowEQ is working great. I guess maps are not included?

    I guess time to find them, lol. Any good source for them?

    I found this set. FYI, this forums sets view for only 1 month history, hence why I couldn't find anything, lol.

    http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthr...55-Latest-Maps
    Last edited by faster100%; 01-29-2021 at 04:06 PM.

  14. #29
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    33

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    Quote Originally Posted by faster100% View Post
    I finally got the 5-port hub from Amazon, and ShowEQ is working great. I guess maps are not included?

    I guess time to find them, lol. Any good source for them?

    I found this set. FYI, this forums sets view for only 1 month history, hence why I couldn't find anything, lol.

    http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthr...55-Latest-Maps
    Yup that's the set I always use, i always use google to find them lol.

  15. #30
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,759

    Re: Showeq 6 and Raspberry Pi 4

    yes brewalls are the ones I use
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On